FRAGILITÉ, CONFLITS ET VIOLENCE

CIWA renforce son soutien à 11 pays d'Afrique subsaharienne aux prises avec la fragilité, les conflits et la violence (FCV). La CIWA reste engagée dans quatre régions hautement prioritaires touchées par le FCV - la Corne de l'Afrique, le Sahel occidental et central, le lac Tchad et les Grands Lacs.

FINALITÉ

Le paysage difficile pour la gestion et le développement des ressources en eau en Afrique subsaharienne est exponentiellement plus grand dans les pays touchés par le FCV. Les institutions ont tendance à être plus faibles, et les infrastructures et les connaissances et informations basées sur les données sont plus rares. La CIWA s'efforce de renforcer et d'améliorer les capacités institutionnelles, de construire des infrastructures plus durables, d'améliorer les services de données et d'information et de renforcer la résilience et la coopération entre les pays FCV. 

APPROCHE

Le paysage difficile pour la gestion et le développement des ressources en eau en Afrique subsaharienne est exponentiellement plus grand dans les pays touchés par le FCV. Les institutions ont tendance à être plus faibles, et les infrastructures et les connaissances et informations basées sur les données sont plus rares. CIWA s'efforce de renforcer et d'améliorer les capacités institutionnelles, de construire des infrastructures plus durables, d'améliorer les services de données et d'information et de renforcer la résilience et la coopération entre les pays FCV.

RÉSULTATS ESCOMPTÉS

Le travail de CIWA renforcera les capacités institutionnelles, aidera les pays et les entités régionales à se préparer aux investissements dans les infrastructures hydrauliques et améliorera l'utilisation des données pour une meilleure prise de décision concernant l'augmentation des inondations, des sécheresses et d'autres chocs climatiques, les investissements et la coopération dans les eaux transfrontalières. 

DÉCOUVREZ NOS PUBLICATIONS

Watch, read and listen more on CIWA’s support in FCV countries

RESOURCE

Water Cooperation in the Horn of Africa, Addressing Drivers of Conflict and Strengthening Resilience: A joint SIPRI–CIWA report aims to help to fill a this research gap by exploring the role of local-level cooperative initiatives in improving water resource challenges in the Horn of Africa. 

BLOG

Protecting Lake Victoria for a green, resilient and inclusive future The Cooperation in International Waters in Africa (CIWA) supported a multi-sector team led by the World Bank Water Global Practice who identified key drivers of continued degradation of this precious transboundary lake. 

BLOG

Plusieurs facteurs ont conduit la Commission du bassin du lac Tchad (CBLT) à solliciter l’appui du programme de Coopération pour les eaux internationales en Afrique (CIWA) pour produire, partager et gérer les connaissances. En savoir plus

BLOG

L’utilisation des eaux souterraines est manifestement indispensable à la promotion d’une plus grande prospérité partagée dans le Sahel — en raison surtout de la rareté des eaux de surface. La Banque mondiale et CIWA ont lancé l’initiative sur les eaux souterraines au Sahel. En savoir plus The Sahel Groundwater Initiative. Read More.

UK AID
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Netherlands)
Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs logo
Sweden Sverige

Plan du site

fr_FR

FRAGILITY, CONFLICT AND VIOLENCE

CIWA is deepening its support for 11 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa that are grappling with fragility, conflict, and violence (FCV). CIWA remains engaged in four high-priority FCV-affected regions – the Horn of Africa, West and Central Sahel, Lake Chad, and the Great Lakes.

PURPOSE

The challenging landscape for water resources management and development in Sub-Saharan Africa is exponentially greater in countries affected by FCV. Institutions tend to be weaker, and infrastructure and data-driven knowledge and information are scarcer. CIWA works to shore up and improve institutional capacity, build more sustainable infrastructure, improve data and information services, and build resilience and cooperation among FCV countries. 

APPROACH

In the Horn of Africa, CIWA is engaged in the borderland areas to strengthen the ability of communities to cope with, and adapt to, climate shocks through enhanced management and use of groundwater resources. CIWA is also improving mechanisms for cooperation on water resources management and development in the Nile Basin. CIWA is helping build the analytical and institutional foundation to enhance transboundary cooperation on water security in the Sahel region and Lake Chad, both high-priority areas deeply affected by FCV.

EXPECTED RESULTS

CIWA’s work will strengthen institutional capacity, help countries and regional entities prepare for investments in water infrastructure, and improve the use of data for better decision-making about increased floods, droughts and other climate shocks, investments, and cooperation across transboundary waters. 

European Union
UK AID
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Netherlands)
Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs logo
Sweden Sverige

SITE MAP

en_GB